About : Our Building

History

History

The Bronfman Center Brownstone was purchased and renovated by New York University in the early 1990s. The well-preserved facade with elaborate wood detailing was designed by Lockwood De Forest, one of the founding members of the Associated Artists, the decorative arts aetelier he co-founded with Louis Comfort Tiffany and Candace Wheeler in 1879. Inspired by his wedding trip to India, De Forest decorated the facade with low relief teak carvings produced in a Ahmedabad factory, particularly around the building's main entry and the projecting oriel on the second floor. Widely admired for its decoration and furnishings, in 1900 a writer for House Beautiful called it the "most beautiful Indian House in America." Today the Bronfman Center boasts a gallery, several beautiful multi-purpose and prayer spaces, a well stocked Jewish library and place of study, a quaint living-room style space, a student lounge, three balconies, offices, and more.

Take A Tour

Take a Tour

See our beautiful building, reserve a room for your function or event, schedule a visit to the Bronfman Center or find out more about the Kosher Cafeteria.

Find out more here.

In The Gallery